This blog is not dead. Although it may seem so.

It is really shameful, but I’ve had some pretty rough weeks and blogging had to hang up two of my beloved blogs. It’s clearly not a good strategy, because as you all know, the secrets of any successful blog are:

  • update regularly, at least once a day or every two days
  • post pictures, blog readers are generally pretty lazy
  • connect with your readers through questions, etc.
  • make yourself (your blog) visible
  • make yourself visible quite literally and share uninteresting facts from your everyday life with your audience
  • blog about something at least remotly interesting
  • give something away now and again 😉 aka sell your soul as a marketing device

Ha, here I am, sitting on the bed in my PJs and writing in my blog which has been left untouched for waaaay too long. Herewith I would like to apologise to the handful of my friends and fans who care about this blog. This shall not happen again.

On a positive note, I have not been idle when it comes to touring Finnish museums 😉 check out the Museum list. Now I’m sitting here, scratching my hair and wondering how I’m going to go around this, especially as I already made some museum plans for the weekend.

Meh, let’s start with an easy one: on Tuesday I went to the Design Museum in Helsinki to check out Eero Aarnio’s exhibition. Now if you are wondering who on earth is Eero Aarnio, think Ball Chair, that dog you can sit on, the swam lamp… and that cute Duck kitchen timer! Yeah that’s all been designed by one guy, this guy!

IMG_20160726_151024

(not the guy in the chair though;)

The exhibition was awesome. Some of the exhibits were placed on robotic pedestals and cruising the main hall randomly. A cunning approach to the dialogue between the exhibit and the visitor…

… the museum must be really interesting to those who want to learn the basics of Finnish design; the layout is logical and “clean”, but a more advanced visitors won’t probably be astonished by anything in particular.

Downstairs was a section designated for some kind of young/experimental design, and it was quite playful, but somehow nothing extra remarkable. And that is my problem with Design Museums – all of those I’ve visited so far (London, Scandinavia, rest of Europe) have been just fine, but nothing I would write home about. Of course special exhibitions aside. I seem to get more feeling and knowledge from walking around the area, shopping for mundane goods, visiting homes and interacting with the space directly… What has your experience been with Design Museum? What should we present there, what message shall we communicate?

One thought on “This blog is not dead. Although it may seem so.

  1. I really enjoyed the Design Museum too. It’s not too big either, just the right size for an enjoyable experience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

